Welcome from the TPC Chairs

Dominik Karbowski
Argonne National Laboratory,
Samir Jemei
University of Bourgogne Franche-Comté,
Belfort, France
Sousso Kelouwani
Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières,
QC, Canada

The Technical Program Committee (TPC) is pleased to welcome you to the 15th IEEE Vehicle Power and Propulsion Conference (IEEE VPPC) in Chicago, USA, under a shared organization between Argonne National Laboratory, University of Sherbrooke and Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières.

The TPC committee has organized a notable program that advances the current technical and research trends to provide a forum for sharing knowledge, experience and creative ideas regarding the next generation of vehicles. In this IEEE VPPC edition, we have organized 7 Regular Tracks covering many exciting aspects about vehicle power and propulsion. In addition, we also have prepared: (i) 3 Special Sessions under the coordination of the Special Sessions Chair, Arnaud Gaillard, Univ. Bourgogne Franche-Comté (France) and Eric Rask, Argonne National Laboratory, (USA); (ii) Recent Results Track coordinated by Robin Roche, Univ. Bourgogne Franche-Comté, France, Zheng Chen, Kunming University of Science and Technology, China and Walter Lhomme, Univ. Lille, France; (iii) 5 technical tutorials under the coordination of Tutorial Chairs Aymeric Rousseau, Argonne National Laboratory, USA, Nadia Steiner, Univ. Bourgogne, Franche-Comté, France and Hicham Chaoui, Carleton University, Canada.

All are organized in order to address new, more advanced and interesting point of views in this very important field for a more electric mobility. The technical program consists of 18 oral sessions and 1 poster session. All the accepted full papers will be published in the conference proceedings. In addition, the program offers 6 outstanding keynotes, with 2 jointly selected with the IEEE-VTC conference.

The creation of this impressive program would not be possible without the voluntary and constant support from outstanding colleagues that we would like to thank warmly. Special thanks go to the TPC members that organized a very effective review process with their professional and timely review or technical contributions. We would also like to thank the invited speakers, Special Session and Tutorial Chairs that organized excellent sessions that will contribute with their latest insights to this conference delegates.

Of course, making a successful technical conference is not possible without the contributions of authors, to whom we would like to express our gratitude for having decided to present and share their ideas and works to our community.

We would also like to thank the IEEE VPPC 2018 Organization and VPP TechCom for its full support.

We look forward to meeting you in Chicago, USA, from August 27th to August 30th. For sure, you will enjoy this IEEE VPPC edition in Chicago!


Dominik Karbowski, Samir Jemei and Sousso Kelouwani

TPC Chairs of IEEE VPPC 2018